Indiana

Quick Facts

18

Years Old

$49

Permit Fee

4

Years Permits Valid 

60

Day Processing Time
Permit Reciprocity Map
PERMITS HONORED IN:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
RESIDENT PERMITS ONLY:
Colorado, Florida, Maine, Michigan, New Hampshire


PERMITS NOT HONORED IN:
California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, New York City, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Virgin Islands, Washington, American Samoa, N. Mariana Islands

Permit Information

Indiana is a Shall Issue to Residents and Non-Residents. 

Permits Issued By

Permit Requirements
1. Have a proper reason to carry a handgun
2. Be of good character and reputation
3. Be a proper person to be licensed
4. Be a citizen of the United States or not a citizen of the United States but is allowed to carry a firearm in the United States under federal law
5. does not have a conviction for resisting law enforcement under IC 35-44.1-3-1 within five (5) years before the person applies for a license or permit under this chapter;
6. does not have a conviction for a crime for which the person could have been sentenced for more than one (1) year;
7. does not have a conviction for a crime of domestic violence (as defined in IC 35-31.5-2-78), unless a court has restored the person’s right to possess a firearm under IC 35-47-4-7;
8. is not prohibited by a court order from possessing a handgun;
9. does not have a record of being an alcohol or drug abuser as defined in this chapter;
10. does not have documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that the person has a propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct;
11. does not make a false statement of material fact on the person’s application;
12. does not have a conviction for any crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun;
13. does not have a conviction for violation of the provisions of this article within five (5) years of the person’s application;
14. does not have an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, if the person applying for a license or permit under this chapter is less than twenty-three (23) years of age;
15. has not been involuntarily committed, other than a temporary commitment for observation or evaluation, to a mental institution by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority;
16. has not been the subject of a:
a. ninety (90) day commitment as a result of proceeding under IC 12-26-6; or
b. regular commitment under IC 12-26-7; or has not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, including being found:
c. not guilty by reason of insanity; guilty but mentally ill; or incompetent to stand trial.

Required Documents 

Permit Renewal
You can renew your license using the online form starting 365 days before the expiration date on the license. If it has already expired it is no longer valid but you can still renew the permit. If you submit a renewal within 30 days of the expiration date, the license is automatically extended until the application has been approved or denied.
The renewal fee for a four year license is a $10 local fee and a $30 state fee. $5 of the local fee and the entire state fee is refunded if no license is issued.

The fee for a lifetime license is a $40 local fee and a $60 state fee with a current valid license. $30 of the local fee and the entire state fee is refunded if no license is issued.

Share by: